IMG_7426.jpg

All about us

History of the Union nationale métisse

The Union nationale métisse Saint-Joseph du Manitoba is the oldest Métis organization in Canada, founded on July 17, 1887 at the home of Mr. Joseph St-Germain in St. Vital.

However, its origins can be traced back to September 24, 1884, in Batoche, Saskatchewan, where after Sunday mass at Saint-Antoine de Padoue Church, Gabriel Dumont, Louis Riel and several other Métis patriots founded the Association Saint-Joseph—the name of the patron saint being chosen by Louis Riel himself.


An ardent protector and defender of the identity and rights of the French-Canadian Red River Métis, Louis Riel also sought to establish a common front that would unite all the various Métis peoples of Red River, including groups such as the Red River French-Canadians, the Half-breeds and Rupertlanders, to name only a few. This would ensure that the Métis nation could take its rightful place within the new province of Manitoba.

 

The Association became the Union Métisse Saint-Joseph in 1887.

The founding members of the Union Métisse Saint-Joseph were:​

Joseph St-Germain, père

Benjamin Nault

Abraham Guay

Pierre St-Germain

François Poitras

Jean-François Plouffe

Auguste Harrison

Pierre Lavallée

Joseph Riel

François Marion

Elzéar Lagimodière

Pierre Deleurme

Alfred Nault

Martin Jérôme

Joseph McMullen

"So as to be more united, as our ancestors were"

Our mission

The main objectives of the Union nationale métisse Saint-Joseph du Manitoba were and remain:

  • To unite the French-speaking Métis of the Red River;

  • To represent the French-speaking Métis of the Red River as a founding people;

  • To protect the French-speaking Métis of the Red River's people and its interests;

  • To protect, develop and promote the French-speaking Métis of the Red River's society, its traditions and its culture, and to make known the history of the French-speaking Métis of the Red River.

 

The Union nationale métisse today

Today, the Union nationale métisse Saint-Joseph du Manitoba (UNMSJM) continues to strive to honour its mission, which is to protect, promote and honour the traditions and the culture of the Red River Métis and to make their history known through activities, workshops and community gatherings.

It continues to preserve the cultural and political values of the the French-speaking Métis of the Red River's people and to defend their language rights, their cultural rights, and their values at the local, provincial and national level. The current Board of Directors is made up of Red River Métis, including some descendants of the historic members.


The Union nationale métisse is currently embarking on a major transition, having received core funding for the first time, to help in carrying out its day-to-day operations and setting up a small team of salaried employees to support the Board of Directors.


The Union nationale métisse is currently embarking on a major transition, having received core funding for the first time, to help in carrying out its day-to-day operations and setting up a small team of salaried employees to support the Board of Directors.

Board members

The Union nationale métisse Saint-Joseph du Manitoba elected its board members in March 2021 at the last Annual General Meeting.

Here are the members of the Board of Directors for 2020-2021

Paulette Duguay

Chair

Paulette.jpg

Paulette is a family woman with 5 children and 10 grandchildren. She is proud to have contributed to a close, united, and healthy family with her husband of over 48 years, Denis. Paulette has also maintained friendships from her childhood that will last a lifetime. Her relatives, including her family, friends and colleagues, are of the utmost importance to her. She cherishes all her connections. Paulette has contributed to the UNMSJM since 2008, filling a variety of positions, most recently that of Chair of the Board. Paulette's interests vary from the cinema to human relations. Indeed, Paulette is a cinephile with a penchant for international films. This is not surprising because she is also very interested in languages. The UNMSJM has always been of great importance to Paulette as it is an organization in which her family worked for many years. She continues the work of her family while respecting her ancestors and elders. In addition to being the Chair of the UNMSJM Board of Directors, Paulette is on the Board of Directors of the Théâtre du Cercle Molière in preparation for the 100th anniversary on April 25, 2025, and the Board of the Canadian Foundation for the Dialogue of Cultures (national committee with headquarters in Ottawa). (Photo credited to Marcel Druwé)

Find out more...

Justin Johnson

Vice-Chair

Justin.jpg

Proud Francophone Métis from the Red River, Justin is the great-great-great-grandson of André Beauchemin, Métis leader of Saint-Vital and member of the provisional government of Louis Riel.
He graduated from the University of Winnipeg with a Bachelor of Arts in Philosophy.
Justin is currently Chief Executive Officer of the Association of Manitoba Bilingual Municipalities (AMBM).
Since 2021, he has been a Director on the Board of Directors of Francofonds and he sits as a Director on the Manitoba 150 Host Committee.
Justin has been involved for several years in the development of francophone and bilingual communities in Manitoba and nationally. He was rewarded for his commitment in 2021 by winning the Riel Prize from the Société de la francophonie manitobaine (SFM) in the Political category.
Native of Lorette, Justin lives there with his wife Caryne and their son Ambroise.

Find out more...

Dominique Duguay

Treasurer

Dominique.jpg

Dominique currently works for the federal government and enjoys his position very much. In recent years, he has also completed several home improvement projects, has increased his learning of sound recording for his church, and watched his children flourish.
When he is not busy with all of these activities, Dominique enjoys outdoor sports, such as hunting, riding, and kayaking.
According to him, it is important to contribute to the UNMSJM because it is important to preserve the Métis roots and traditions as well as the Métis culture, “If we know who we are, it is much easier to know where we are going, individually and as a people ”.

Find out more...

Patrick Dubois

Secretary

Patrick.jpg

Patrick has completed his Master’s in Human Machine Interaction Science and is currently completing his PhD in Philosophy.
He has published his research at prestigious conferences and received various awards.
He is currently teaching at the University of Manitoba.
His interests range from equity and inclusiveness in social and virtual contexts and the history and cultures of Manitoba, Canada, and the world at large.
Patrick participates actively within the UNMSJM because it is a way to celebrate and learn about his Métis culture in a welcoming environment.
Patrick is also on the working committee of the CJP Muvmãte project.

Find out more...

Dée-Anne Vermette

Adjudant

Dée-Anne.jpg

Proud Métis mother and grandmother, Dée-Anne worked for three decades in the field of education. Dée-Anne has a passion for music and theater. In fact, she and her colleague Paul Sherwood each received a Prix Riel in the cultural and artistic category in 1995 for the multi-media show “Envolée FM'95”. The show was conceived with 38 talented Grade 9 students of École Lavallée, and presented on numerous occasions, including during the tour of several DSFM schools and villages in Manitoba. They were awarded the Prix national de la Francophonie Canadienne in 1996 for the same project. Dée-Anne loves to be in nature. As Voyageur François LeBlanc of the Brigade de la Rivière-Rouge since 1989, she has paddled countless lakes and rivers in Manitoba and Ontario, while singing traditional songs of yesteryear. LeBlanc is also the co-producer of the BRR CD, “Jamais je ne t'oublierai”. Retired, Dée-Anne enjoys spending quality time with her family and friends, chatting, laughing, singing and playing the guitar, often around a campfire. She also enjoys reading and learning more about the Métis and Reconciliation, reviewing a variety of texts, watching historical and international films, as well as observing and admiring the Red River flowing along side her property and the eagles, deer, coyotes, foxes, wolves passing by her house.
As the UNM’s Warrant Officer, Dée-Anne feels privileged to be part of this ancient organization where many of her ancestors volunteered. It’s a matter of the heart. She is proud to participate in her own way and to see the UNM move forward, persevering like the turtle, towards the accomplishment of its goals and missions.

Find out more...

Guy Savoie

Esteemed Elder

Guy.jpg

Guy is a distinguished UNMSJM Lifetime Elder. To say that he has accomplished a lot for Franco-Métis, Franco-Manitobans and for the city of Winnipeg is an understatement. Guy was a councillor for the City of Winnipeg for over 10 years. He was part of the discussions and agreements that brought about the Fort Gilbraltar and The Forks here in Winnipeg. Guy was the president of the Festival du Voyageur for 3 years starting in 1976. He helped diversify the festival's funding and broaden its horizons by encouraging the participation of francophone brethren from eastern and western Canada as well as from Louisiana and France. Guy is also one of the founding members the Brigade de la Rivière-Rouge. Guy now sits on the Knights of Columbus’ Goulet Council as well as on the Foyer Vincent Board of Directors. Guy has been Métis for a long time, as he puts it so well. While researching his genealogy, he discovered that he is a descendent of Louis Riel and of the Lagimodière, a highly esteemed family of the Métis community here in Manitoba. It is very important for Guy that his children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren know their Métis heritage and culture well, which is why he continues his work with the Union at the age of 87.

Find out more...

Elaine Beauchemin

Director

Elaine.jpg

For Elaine, raising her three children is her greatest accomplishment. Witnessing their accomplishments has always been her greatest pleasure. She is also a very committed teacher. She even went back to school after 25 years, which was scary but rewarding.
Elaine enjoys spending her free time researching and finding out what it's like to be Métis. She understands that her values come from her Métis ancestors.
Elaine also enjoys traveling and learning and hearing people's stories.
The Union is part of Elaine’s family, her family has played an important role in the Union since its inception.
Elaine is the chair of the UNMSJM's programs and operations committee as well as the 2022 Métis Congress ad hoc committee. She is also an advisor on the Board of directors of the Société métisse historique.

Find out more...

Daneige Edey

Director

Daneige.jpg

Daneige completed her Bachelor of Arts in May 2020 and is working to complete her Bachelor of Education.
She has been the editor-in-chief of Réveil, the USB student newspaper for 3 years and is part of the champion soccer team at the University of Saint-Boniface.
Daneige is interested in beading traditional Métis earrings as well as sports as an athlete and trainer.
She actively participates on the Board of UNMSJM because she is a young Métis woman and believes that there is a lot of work to be done at several levels so that Métis culture is more prominent in the Franco-Manitoban scene.
Daneige is also an advisor on the finance and development committee at the UNMSJM and on the Board of directors of the Société métisse historique.

Find out more...

Robert Gendron

Director

Robert.jpg

As a current law student at McGill University, Robert doesn’t let his studies stop him from accomplishing a variety of other projects. In recent years, he helped build and bead a tikinagan for his friend and her newborn. He developed and participated in several workshops and programs related to indigenous identity with different museums. He also learned Korean as well as Anishinaabemowin.
When he has time for his favourite hobbies, Robert enjoys beading and tanning hides. He is also crazy about museums and Manitoba’s history.

Find out more...

Nancy Gouliquer

Director

Nancy.jpg

Nancy is a Métis artisan with a passion for community, Métis culture and history. She connects to her French-Métis roots through teaching, volunteering and storytelling. Nancy likes to pass on traditional skills like capote-making, moccasin & mukluk sewing, hide prepping and drum-making, historic bag constructing, birch-bark collection and use, willow basket building, and Métis beading and porcupine quilling. As an elder and knowledge-keeper, Nancy is very involved in the Métis community, mentoring, giving workshops, and volunteering. As a student of history, she is a member of several historic re-enacting groups (Fur Trade & Voyageur Era) and makes presentations and displays in costume at various Museums, and, historical & cultural events.

Find out more...

Christine Graff

Director

Christine.jpg

Christine has a Bachelor of Arts (Honors) in Anthropology from the University of Manitoba and a Bachelor of Education from Trent University.
She is an elementary school teacher and is very proud of her marriage and her children.
Christine plays on a women's handball team and enjoys doing various arts such as beading and scrapbooking.
She says that the UNMSJM allows her to be involved in the Francophone Métis community of Manitoba. The bonds she has built with the members of the UNMSJM allow her to continue learning about her culture and her ancestors in a French-speaking environment. She wants her children to grow up knowing their culture, traditions, and the history of their Métis people.

Find out more...

Marjolaine Pelletier

Director

Marjolaine.jpg

Marjolaine is retired but it is no small task! She teaches a CBT (Cognitive Behavior Therapy) course called Turning Pages with MMH (Manitoba Mental Health). She has also started an exercise program that includes yoga, training, and Zumba.
Marjolaine occasionally sits as a jury in the master's program in counseling at the Université de Saint-Boniface.
His interests include Spanish, people, music, the arts and cycling.
Marjolaine sits on the board of UNMSJM because it is important to make known the activities, the mission, history, and policies of the UNM to as many people as possible, to make as many allies as possible.
She also sits on the Turning Pages Board of Directors.

Find out more...

We are always looking for new Board members, and for external committee members.

 

Find out how you can support the Union nationale’s Board!

 

Our Team:

Alèxe LaRoche 

Coordinator of Programs and Operations

alaroche.unmsjm@gmail.com

Isabelle C. Monnin
Strategy and Development Officer
imonnin.unmsjm@gmail.com

 

Suzanne Saurette

Financial Officer

suesaurette@gmail.com

UNM-logo-transparent.png

Annual Reports

You can read our past annual reports to find out what we have accomplished in previous years!

Annual Report 2019-2020 (in French)

Annual Report 2018-2019 (in French)

DID YOU KNOW...

In 1887, the Board Members of the Association St.-Joseph du Manitoba were:

Chair – Ambroise Lépine

Secretary – Simon St. Germain

Treasurer – Louis Lépine

Chaplain – Father Dugas

IMG_7426.jpg

À notre sujet

Historique de l'Union nationale métisse

L’Union nationale métisse Saint-Joseph du Manitoba est la doyenne des organisations métisses au pays ayant été fondée le 17 juillet 1887 à la résidence de Monsieur Joseph St-Germain à Saint-Vital.

On peut cependant retracer ses origines au 24 septembre 1884 à Batoche lorsqu’à Église Saint-Antoine-de-Padoue après la messe du dimanche, Gabriel Dumont, Louis Riel et d’autres patriotes Métis de l’époque fondèrent l’Association Saint-Joseph – le nom du patron ayant été choisi par Louis Riel lui-même.


Protecteur ardent et défenseur de l’identité et des droits des Métis canadiens-français de la Rivière-Rouge, Louis Riel préconisait toutefois l’établissement d’un front commun de la part des divers peuples Métis de la Rivière-Rouge, dont les Métis canadiens-français de la Rivière-Rouge, les half-breeds et Rupertlanders pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns, afin d’assurer une place légitime à la nation métisse au sein de la nouvelle province du Manitoba.

 

L’Association devint l’Union Métisse Saint-Joseph en 1887.

Les membres fondateurs de l'Union Métisse Saint-Joseph étaient:​

Joseph St-Germain, père

Benjamin Nault

Abraham Guay

Pierre St-Germain

François Poitras

Jean-François Plouffe

Auguste Harrison

Pierre Lavallée

Joseph Riel

François Marion

Elzéar Lagimodière

Pierre Deleurme

Alfred Nault

Martin Jérôme

Joseph McMullen

"Afin que nous soyons davantage unis,

comme l'ont été nos ancêtres"

Notre mission

Les objectifs principaux de l’Union nationale métisse Saint-Joseph du Manitoba étaient et restent toujours :

  • l’unité des Métis canadiens-français;

  • la représentation des Métis canadiens-français en tant que peuple fondateur;

  • la protection du peuple métis canadien-français et de ses intérêts;

  • la protection, l’épanouissement et la mise en valeur de la société métisse canadienne-française, de ses traditions et de sa culture, ainsi que la diffusion de l’histoire des Métis canadiens-français.

 

L'Union nationale métisse aujourd'hui

Aujourd’hui, l’Union nationale métisse Saint-Joseph du Manitoba (UNMSJM) vise toujours à honorer sa mission, à savoir protéger, mettre en valeur et honorer les traditions et la culture des Métis de la Rivière-Rouge et diffuser l’histoire de ce peuple, par l’entremise d’activités, d’ateliers et de rassemblements communautaires.

Elle continue à préserver les valeurs culturelles et politiques du peuple Métis canadien-français de la Rivière-Rouge et à défendre ses droits linguistiques, ses droits culturels et ses valeurs au plan local, provincial et national. Le conseil d’administration aujourd’hui est composé de Métis.ses de la Rivière-Rouge, parmi eux des descendants de conseillers d’antan.


L’Union nationale métisse est actuellement en voie d’entamer une grande transition, ayant reçu pour la première fois un financement de base pour mener à bien ses opérations quotidiennes et former une petite équipe rémunérée pour appuyer les actions du Conseil d’administration.


Deux dossiers qui se démarquent particulièrement dans le cadre de cette transition sont la constitution et les règles d’adhésion à l’UNMSJM. Ce sont des dossiers que l'Union nationale métisse prend très au sérieux et sur lesquels l’organisme continue de se pencher, en consultation avec des experts juridiques et historiques.
 

Membres du CA

Les administrateurs de l’Union nationale métisse Saint-Joseph du Manitoba ont été élus en mars 2021 à la dernière l’Assemblée générale annuelle.

Voici les membres du conseil d'administration 2020-2021

Paulette Duguay

Présidente

Paulette.jpg

Paulette est une femme de famille avec 5 enfants et 10 petits-enfants. Elle est fière d’avoir contribué à une famille proche, unie et de bonne santé avec son mari de plus de 48 ans, Denis. Paulette a aussi maintenu des amitiés depuis son enfance qui dureront toute sa vie. Ses proches incluant sa famille, ses amis et ses collègues, sont de la plus haute importance pour elle. Elle chérit toutes ses connections. Paulette contribue à l’UNMSJM depuis 2008 en comblant une variété de postes, plus récemment celui de Présidente. Les intérêts de Paulette varient du cinéma aux relations humaines. En effet, Paulette est une cinéphile avec un penchant pour les films internationaux. Ceci n’est pas surprenant car elle s’intéresse aussi beaucoup aux langues. L’UNMSJM a toujours été d’une très grande importance pour Paulette comme c’est un organisme dans lequel sa famille a œuvré pendant plusieurs années. Elle continue le travail de sa famille tout en respectant ses ancêtres et les anciens. En plus d’être la Présidente du CA de l’UNMSJM, Paulette siège au CA du comité directeur du Théâtre du Cercle Molière en préparation au 100e anniversaire le 25 avril 2025 et le CA de la Fondation canadienne pour le dialogue des cultures (comité national siégé à Ottawa). (Photo créditée à Marcel Druwé)

En savoir plus...

Justin Johnson

Vice-Président

Justin.jpg

Fier Métis francophone de la Rivière-Rouge, Justin est l’arrière-arrière-arrière-petit-fils d’André Beauchemin, leader Métis de Saint-Vital et membre du gouvernement provisoire de Louis Riel.
Il est diplômé de l’Université de Winnipeg avec un Baccalauréat ès arts en philosophie. Justin est présentement Chef de la direction de l’Association des municipalités bilingues du Manitoba (AMBM).
Depuis 2021, il est Administrateur au conseil d’administration de Francofonds et il siège à titre d’Administrateur au Comité hôte Manitoba 150. Justin s’implique depuis plusieurs années au développement des collectivités francophones et bilingues au Manitoba et à l’échelle nationale. Il a d’ailleurs été récompensé pour son engagement en 2021 en gagnant le prix Riel de la Société de la francophonie manitobaine (SFM) dans la catégorie Politique. 
Natif de Lorette, Justin y habite avec sa femme Caryne et leur fils Ambroise.

En savoir plus...

Dominique Duguay

Trésorier

Dominique.jpg

Dominique travaille couramment pour le gouvernement fédéral et aime beaucoup son poste. Dans les dernières années, il a aussi accompli plusieurs projets de rénovations dans sa maison, avancé dans son apprentissage de prise de son pour son église et a regardé ses enfants s’épanouir. 
Lorsqu’il n’est pas occupé à faire toutes ses choses, Dominique aime bien les sports à l'extérieur, comme la chasse, les redonnés, et les sorties en kayak.
Il est important de contribuer à l’UNMSJM selon lui parce que c'est important de préserver les racines et traditions Métisses ainsi que la culture Métisse, « Si on sait qui nous sommes, c'est beaucoup plus facile de savoir où nous allons, individuellement et comme peuple. »

En savoir plus...

Patrick Dubois

Secrétaire

Patrick.jpg

Patrick a complété sa Maîtrise en science de l’interaction homme machine et complète son doctorat en philosophie présentement.

Il a publié sa recherche à des congrès prestigieux et a reçu des prix divers.

Il enseigne présentement à l’Université du Manitoba. Ses intérêts varient de l'équitabilité et l'inclusivité dans des contextes sociaux et virtuels et l'histoire et les cultures du Manitoba, du Canada et du monde en général.

Patrick participe activement au sein de l’UNMSJM car c'est un moyen de célébrer et d'apprendre sa culture Métisse dans un environnement accueillant.

Patrick est aussi membre du comité de travail du projet Muvmãte du CJP.

En savoir plus...

Dée-Anne Vermette

Adjudante

Dée-Anne.jpg

Fière maman et grand-mère Métisse, Dée-Anne a oeuvré pendant trois décennies dans le domaine de l’éducation. Passionés de la musique et du théâtre, elle et son collègue Paul Sherwood ont reçu en 1995, un Prix Riel chacun - catégorie culturelle et artistique - pour le spectacle multi-média “Envolée FM’95”, conçu avec les 38 élèves talentueux de la 9e année de l’École Lavallée, et présenté à nombreuses reprises, incluant lors de la tournée de plusieurs écoles/villages de la DSFM au Manitoba. Le Prix national de la Francophonie Canadienne leur a été décerné en 1996 pour le même projet. Dée-Anne aime beaucoup la nature. En tant que le Voyageur François LeBlanc de la Brigade de la Rivière-Rouge, depuis 1989, il a pagayé d’innombrables lacs et rivières au Manitoba et en Ontario, tout en chantant les chansons traditionnelles dantan. LeBlanc est aussi coproducteur du CD de la BRR, “Jamais je ne t’oublierai”. À la retraite, Dée-Anne aime passer du bon temps avec sa famille et ses ami.es, jaser, rire, chanter et jouer de la guitare, souvent autour d’un feu de camp, lire et apprendre davantage au sujet des Métis et de la Réconciliation, réviser une variété de textes, visionner des films historiques ou internationaux, observer et admirer la Rivière Rouge qui coule devant sa porte ainsi que les aigles, les chevreuils, les coyotes, les renards, le(s) loup(s), etc. qui passent. Adjudante de l’UNM, Dée-Anne se sent privilégiée de faire partie de cette ancienne organisation où ont oeuvré plusieurs de ses ancêtres. C’est une affaire de coeur. Elle est fière de participer de sa façon, de voir avancer l’UNM, persévérante comme la tortue, envers l’accomplissement de ses buts et de ses missions.
 

En savoir plus...

Guy Savoie

Aîné estimé

Guy.jpg

Guy est un Aîné à vie très distingué de l’UNMSJM. Dire qu’il a accompli beaucoup pour les franco-métis, franco-manitobains et pour la ville de Winnipeg est un euphémisme. Guy a été conseiller pour la ville de Winnipeg pour plus que 10 ans. Il a fait partie des discussions et ententes qui ont mené à bonne fin le fort Gilbraltar et la Fourche ici à Winnipeg. Guy a été le président du Festival du Voyageur pour 3 ans à partir de 1976. Il a aidé à diversifier le financement du festival et d’agrandir ses horizons en encourageant la participation des esprits francophones de l’est et de l’ouest canadien en plus de la Louisiane et de la France. Guy est aussi un des membres fondateurs de la Brigade de la Rivière-Rouge. Guy siège maintenant au conseil Goulet des Chevaliers des Colomb ainsi qu’au CA du Foyer Vincent. Guy est Métis depuis longtemps comme il le dit si bien. En recherchant sa généalogie, il a découvert qu’il est un descendant de Louis Riel et des Lagimodière, une famille très estimée de la communauté Métisse ici au Manitoba. Il est très important pour Guy que ses enfants, petits-enfants et arrière-petits-enfants connaissent bien leur héritage et leur culture Métisse. Cela est pourquoi il continue son travail avec l’Union à l’âge de 87 ans.

En savoir plus...

Elaine Beauchemin

Conseillère

Elaine.jpg

Pour Elaine, élever ses trois enfants est son plus grand accomplissement. Être témoin de leurs accomplissements a toujours été son plus grand plaisir. Elle est aussi une enseignante très engagée. Elle est même retournée aux études après 25 ans, ce qui était épeurant mais valorisant. 
Elaine aime passer son temps libre en faisant des recherches et en découvrant ce que c'est d'être Métisse. Elle comprend que ses valeurs viennent de ses ancêtres Métis. 
Elaine aime aussi voyager et apprendre et entendre les histoires des personnes.
L'Union fait partie de la famille d’Elaine; sa famille a occupé une place importante à l'Union depuis son début. 
Elaine est la présidente du comité des programmes et des opérations de l’UNMSJM ainsi que du comité ad hoc du Congrès Métis 2022. Elle est aussi conseillère au CA de la Société métisse historique.

En savoir plus...

Daneige Edey

Conseillère

Daneige.jpg

Daneige a complété son Baccalauréat ès arts en mai 2020 et travaille à compléter son baccalauréat en éducation.
Elle est la rédactrice en chef du Réveil, le journal étudiant à l'USB depuis 3 ans et fait partie de l'équipe championne de soccer à l’Université de Saint-Boniface.
Daneige s’intéresse au perlage de boucles d'oreilles traditionnelles Métisses ainsi que les sports comme athlète et entraineuse.
Elle participe activement au CA de l’UNMSJM. Elle est une jeune femme Métisse qui croit qu'il y a beaucoup de travail à faire à plusieurs niveaux pour que la culture Métisse soit plus à l'avant dans la scène Franco-Manitobaine. 
Daneige est aussi conseillère au comité de finances et développement à l’UNMSJM et au CA de la Société métisse historique.

En savoir plus...

Robert Gendron

Conseiller

Robert.jpg

Étudiant à la faculté de droit à l’Université de McGill, Robert ne laisse pas ses études l’empêcher d’accomplir divers autres projets. Il a dans les dernières années, aidé à construire et perler un tikinagan pour son amie et le nouveau-né de son amie. Il a développé et participé à plusieurs ateliers et programmes liés à l’identité autochtone avec divers musées. Il a aussi appris le Coréen et l’anishinaabemowin.
Lorsqu’il a du temps à consacrer à ses passe-temps préférés, Robert aime faire du perlage et tanner les peaux. Il est aussi fou des musées et de l’histoire du Manitoba.
Robert tient à cœur la communauté Métisse car il y retrouve l’opportunité d’apprendre des autres et de partager ses connaissances. Il croit aussi que les enjeux politiques et légaux ont une importance unique pour les Métis, les Manitobains et les Canadiens alors pour lui, il est important d’aider l’Union car c’est un organisme bien placé pour avancer les causes Métisses.
Robert siège à plusieurs CA présentement, incluant celui de la Société métisse historique et celui du Welcoming Winnipeg Committee. Dans le passé Robert, a aussi siègé aux CA de la SFM, du Winnipeg Foundation Reconciliation Grants Advisory Committee et de la Coop Vélo-Cité.

En savoir plus...

Nancy Gouliquer

Conseillère

Nancy.jpg

Nancy est une artisane métisse passionnée par la communauté, la culture et l'histoire Métisse. Elle se rapproche à ses racines franco-Métisses par l’entremise de l'enseignement, le bénévolat et la narration. Nancy aime transmettre ses compétences traditionnelles comme la fabrication de capots, la couture de mocassins et de mukluk, la préparation de peaux et la fabrication de tambours, la construction de sacs historiques, la collecte et l'utilisation d'écorce de bouleau, la fabrication de paniers en saule, le perlage Métis et le piquant de porc-épic. En tant qu'aînée et gardienne du savoir, Nancy est très engagée dans la communauté Métisse, en offrant du mentorat, en donnant des ateliers et faisant du bénévolat. En tant qu'étudiante en histoire, elle est membre de plusieurs groupes de reconstitution historique (Époque de la traite de fourrures et des voyageurs) et fait des présentations et des expositions en costume dans divers musées et lors d'événements historiques et culturels.

En savoir plus...

Christine Graff

Conseillère

Christine.jpg

Christine a un Baccalauréat avec spécialisation en anthropologie de l’Université du Manitoba et un Baccalauréat en éducation de l’Université de Trent.
Elle est une enseignante au niveau élémentaire et est très fière de son mariage et ses enfants.
Christine joue sur une équipe de Handball féminine et aime faire des arts variés tel que le perlage et le scrapbooking.
Pour elle, l'UNMSJM lui permet de s’engager dans la communauté Métisse francophone du Manitoba. Les liens qu’elle a bâtis avec les membres de l’UNMSJM lui permettent de continuer à apprendre au sujet de sa culture et de ses ancêtres dans un environnement francophone. Elle veut que ses enfants grandissent en connaissant leur culture, leurs traditions et l'histoire de leur peuple Métis.

En savoir plus...

Marjolaine Pelletier

Conseillère

Marjolaine.jpg

Marjolaine est à la retraite mais ce n'est pas une mince tâche! Elle donne un cours de CBT (Cognitive Behaviour Therapy) appelé Turning Pages avec MMH (Manitoba Mental Health). Elle a aussi commencé un programme d'exercices qui inclut du yoga, de l’entraînement et du Zumba. 
Marjolaine siège, à l'occasion, comme membre du jury au programme de maîtrise en counseling de l'Université de Saint-Boniface.
Ses intérêts incluent l'espagnol, les gens, la musique, les arts et le vélo.
Marjolaine siège sur le CA de l’UNMSJM parce qu’il est important de faire connaître les activités, la mission, l’histoire, les politiques de l'UNM à autant de gens que possible, de se faire autant d'alliés que possible.
Elle siège aussi au CA de Turning Pages.

En savoir plus...

Nous sommes toujours à la recherche de nouveaux conseillers ou de membres externes pour des comités.

 

Apprenez comment vous pouvez appuyer l'administration de l'Union!

 

Notre équipe:

Alèxe LaRoche 

Coordonnatrice des programmes et des opérations

alaroche.unmsjm@gmail.com

Isabelle C. Monnin
Gestionnaire de la stratégie et du développement
imonnin.unmsjm@gmail.com

 

Suzanne Saurette

Gestionnaire des finances

suesaurette@gmail.com

UNM-logo-transparent.png

Rapports annuels

Veuillez consulter nos rapports annuels pour voir ce que nous avons accompli dans les années précédentes!

Rapport annuel 2019-2020

Rapport annuel 2018-2019

SAVIEZ-VOUS QUE…

Les membres de l’éxécutif en 1887 de l’association St-Joseph du Manitoba étaient:

Président – Ambroise Lépine

Sécretaire – Simon St. Germain

Trésorier – Louis Lépine

Chapelain – M. L’abbé Dugas